Schools Out for Summer !

Ah , here it comes … the summer bucket list…every year I make one as I find it helps my sanity in the six weeks to have some sort of plans even if the day to day routine is relaxed.
It’s going to be bittersweet for me as it seems to be the last summer of childhood for Anais – she’s left primary school now and I am well aware next year she will be off doing her own thing with her own friends so I want to treasure this one (yes even the arguments x)

So here are our must dos , whether we ll do all of them I don’t know but I ll write them down.

1. The Big Friendly Reading Challenge      2016

This we do every year but I’m more excited this year because it’s celebrating Roald Dahl who was my favourite author as a child and made me discover a love of reading. Not only does it encourage the kids to read six books over the summer but they receive exclusive Quentin Blake illustrated cards for every book read but there are various story times  and craft sessions throughout the summer nationwide. There’s also an app though at the time of writing I’ve found it to be a bit temperamental.
Cost FREE

2. The Beach

We are so lucky living on the coast , the beach is practically on the door step and it’s quite beautiful – actual sand instead of pebbles (though we do have a pebble beach too) . Pack a picnic, some body boards for the kids to ‘surf’ , a good book and some change for an ice cream and we’ ll be sorted .

Cost £5

3. Forest and Farming Day

A little way out of our area but in the ruins of an abbey and across the road a stately manor house garden will be hosting it’s annual Forest and Farming day  packed with vehicle displays , sheep, model boats sailing on the water, bushcraft and various stalls.

Cost FREE

4. Teddy Bears Picnic


Free food, facepainting and fun !!!

5. The Cinema

I love our old cinema , it’s a vintage art deco 1920s style one and this summers film is The BFG – definitely on the do list even if the trailer nearly had me in tears!

6. See a Show


Anais will be performing in Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs at our local theatre in August so of course we will be going along to support her ! 

7. Rock pooling

Another great thing living on the coast is the opportunity to go rock pooling in all the local rock pools .

8. Bug Hunting


Where we live is unique in that we have hills behind us yet coast in front. The hills and woods are great to explore , so looking for mini beasts is a must !

9. Visit a Castle


Our local area in surrounded in history plus we have an English Heritage card so a visit to Dover Castle if not Deal and Walmers Castle’s are a MUST.

10. Visit the zoo


Again we re so lucky to live near two amazing zoos – Howletts and Port Lympne both founded by the late John Aspinal . So many wonderful species of animal my favourite being the tigers and wolves not to mention the meerkat s !!!

4 thoughts on “Schools Out for Summer !

  1. Kate says:

    Love reading bucket lists for a bit of inspiration! Some of the things my four year old added to ours are intriguing – a rainbow party day with rainbow pizza?!? Enjoy the summer!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Pramshed says:

    There are some fab plans here lovely, I hope that you get round to doing them all. I think it’s really important to have a bucket list of sorts, as I can imagine that it’s very easy for the 6 weeks to fly-by, and for the kids to be back at school again. You’re so lucky to live near the coast, one of my friends used to live near to Deal and the beach is gorgeous. There is so much for you and the kids in that part of the UK. Have a great long Summer holiday, and hope to read more about it. Thanks so much for linking up at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

    • atticsecrets1979 says:

      Ah I love Deal beach and pier and the little outdoor swimming pool in Walmer !!! You ve just reminded me ! You’re right we are lucky to live so close I take it for granted sometimes ! We ve had a very busy week last week and did quite a lot of the list already but the weathers turned and I may need to sell a kidney to get through the rest of the holidays 😉 xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

